Bristol County Asylum
Today this former asylum is owned by the University of West England (UWE) and is home to hundreds of students who studying medical courses. With …
Documenting Britain's Overlooked Heritage
Today this former asylum is owned by the University of West England (UWE) and is home to hundreds of students who studying medical courses. With …
Officially opened in January 1906, St Cadoc’s Hospital is one of few original asylum buildings which is still used today. Although the majority of the …
The Bata shoe factory and estate was built in East Tilbury the 1930s by Czecheslovakian entrepeneur Thomas Bata. It was modelled on the original factory …
In 1889 Kesteven became its own authority and was required by law to have any asylum so the search began to find a suitable site …
The former Royal Navy Ordnance Depot has been based here since the late 17th century, used to store and prepare munitions for the naval ships …
Situated just half a mile away from Coalhouse Fort, East Tilbury Battery, was constructed from 1887-93 and supplemented Coalhouse Fort as part of the Thames’ …